CCC students selected for All-Arizona Academic Team Scholarship


CCC students Martika Tallman (left) and John Byrd have been received 2019 All-Arizona Academic Team honors.



FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. - Two Coconino Community College students have been recognized for the prestigious 2019 All-Arizona Academic Team Scholarship.


The scholarship provides free tuition for 60 credit hours at the recipient’s choice of one of the three state universities – Arizona State University, University of Arizona and Northern Arizona University.


John Byrd and Martika Tallman received the honor from CCC.


“It’s the chance to actually obtain that education, to be able to achieve my dreams,” Byrd said. “Without this kind of help, I honestly don’t think I would have been able to get a bachelor’s degree. It’s life changing.”


Byrd’s ultimate goal is to work in the mechanical engineering sector with biological devices, and depending on the needs of the industry, he may continue his education and seek a master’s degree or Ph.D.


Tallman plans on becoming a dental hygienist working on the Navajo Nation, and she said she is thrilled with being selected for the All-Arizona Academic Team.


Tallman said, “It will help me out with the cost to go to school at NAU, because the Dental Hygiene program is one of the most expensive programs.”


Both students are members of the Beta Gamma Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society. They were honored at the All-Arizona Academic Team Recognition Ceremony on Feb. 27, 2019 at the East Valley Institute of Technology. CCC President Colleen A. Smith, Ph.D., was a featured speaker, and CCC Provost Dr. Nathan Southerland also attended.


Every year, each of Arizona’s community colleges nominate students to the International PTK organization, where students are judged based on a 3.50 GPA or higher, good academic standing while working toward an associate degree and involvement in campus and community volunteer work.


Judging consists of three rounds, with second and third rounds held in Washington, D.C. Scores from the national competition are used to rank the students for the state team. First team members receive a $1,000 scholarship, which Byrd received. Second team members receive a $750 scholarship, which Tallman received. Third team members receive a $500 scholarship.


Out of the students nominated this year, several will be named to the All-USA Community College Academic Team. Team members are the nation’s top community college students who are awarded $2,500 in stipends, a medallion, obelisk, certificate and are featured in a spring global edition of USA Today.



Wednesday, 6th March 2019

All Dates

  • Wednesday, 6th March 2019